leave your mark? guestbook

DOG WITH NO BONE

on the midwest and escapism

࣭ ⭑ transience ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

when i was small and moving across state lines ๋ ࣭ ⭑

id meet a friend, only to lose them soon after ๋ ࣭ ⭑

i was taught to be temporary myself. ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

these budding connections left a blueprint ๋ ࣭ ⭑

of how far a friendship should progress ๋ ࣭ ⭑

what lies past that point is unknown ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

and what is unknown is dangerous ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

closeness, intimacy, commitment ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

ive heard these things are what make up the core of humanity. ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

i feel safe when i lay with my partner ๋ ࣭ ⭑

and they stroke my hair, i notice the sun ๋ ࣭ ⭑

and im brought back to my body for just a second ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

so why do i think the solution to my problems is to be found in some field 1000 miles west? ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

not that anything monumental happens there ๋ ࣭ ⭑

i went and i was alone in the world somewhere brand new to me ๋ ࣭ ⭑

i was nothing and nobody ๋ ࣭ ⭑

i was safe and unknown ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

i keep telling myself its the suffocating humidity ๋ ࣭ ⭑

or the sticky heat or the swarms of mosquitos ๋ ࣭ ⭑

that i was born on the road so to the road i will return ๋ ࣭ ⭑

𓆩⟡𓆪

perhaps ill write more on this another time.

#woof